#avaeats Kinda Tries Vegan

I hung out with my friend Nathalie from Doose NYC over the weekend. She joined me and my mom at the Parkinson’s Unity Walk again to walk in honor of my dad, followed by a brunch I wasn’t pleased with so I won’t mention. We talk nonstop whenever we’re together, and she ended up telling me about the vegan shop up Market Hotel in Bushwick. She was already going so I decided to tag along. 

I’m an equal opportunity eater, so why not try some vegan food?

I was hungry- like, a double shack burger from Shake Shack, hungry. To keep it funky: I would’ve been pissed if I bought something from one of the vegan vendors and wasn’t satisfied, so I figured I’d try some desserts. 


Baby steps. 

As we walked around and checked out everyone’s tables, a brightly colored bag caught my eye. We made our way to the Luminous Organics table just to look, and I was pleasantly surprised to find popcorn! My eyes were drawn to the pink Himalayan salt flavored bag. I tried one of the samples on the table and was pleasantly pleased. This flavor is tossed in coconut oil: a pleasant change since I like a little extra butter and salt in my popcorn. For $4, I couldn’t not leave with a bag!

Back to finding desserts.

I walked past a toasted marshmallow during my first lap around the market. I love toasted marshmallows, I’ll tell the makeshift camp fire story in another post. Luckily, it was atop of a (Not So) Rocky Road Brownie at Gone Pie Bakery’s table. A fudge brownie filled with marshmallows, dipped in chocolate, and topped with a toasted marshmallow: it was so rich and decadent and fudgy! 

Nathalie bought one of their coconut cream pies with fresh blueberries to bring home- it smelled so good!

A successful afternoon at the market, but I ate a pepperoni slice after we left. Sorry, not sorry!

Leave a Reply

