Where’s Stella?

Snow storm Stella was supposed to hit the our area pretty hard. Like, NYC subways shut down, hard. I don’t know if it was me knowing I’d be working from home, or just my random cravings- but I woke up wanting bakes.

Bless my little Americanized Trini heart.

Mom must have woken up with the same craving: my phone rang and “come get bakes” was all that was said.

Remember the bake and shrimp from Pearl’s? Yea, those- they’re just a little bit different when my mom makes them.

Typically, bakes are like a blank canvas so you really get the flavors of the fillings. My mom adds a pinch of cinnamon and freshly grated nutmeg to her dough before frying. It transforms the bake from a type of sandwich bread to a ever so slightly-sweet pastry I can eat alone.

Leave a Reply

