Baked Cheese Haus Comes to NYC

 

 

You know the holidays are right around the corner in NYC when Bryant Park builds their Winter Village. Vendors come from far and wide to fill these little glass stores with clothes, jewellery, trinkets, and goodies–I almost bought a puppet, so you can imagine the variety of vendors.

Wandering around the maze window shopping, I turned a corner and got a whiff of something deep-fried. My nose knows when I’m heading in the direction of food, and it led me to an outdoor food court I had never seen.

…I was just here last week, did I miss this corner?

Cookies, pickles, tacos, pizza, pomme frites: I checked out almost every food stand before deciding on Baked Cheese Haus. I watched the raclette* cheese melting under the lamp for a Swiss Dog order, and I was sold.

Traditional Swiss-style raclette cheese, melted on the wheel and scraped over a double dog on a toasted ciabatta bun, garnished with spring onions, Dijon mustard, and baby gherkin pickles. It was wrapped in paper and handed to me, which was perfect because I hadn’t thought of how to begin eating this sandwich.

The dogs were juicy, and the baby gherkins added a great texture and much needed crunch. It was the day the skies decided to open up and sprinkle a few flurries over NYC—it was so cold , my cheese began to harden!

More than just a hot dog with cheese, this put me in a happy place. Everyone feels warm and gooey on the inside when they see warm and gooey cheese melted in front of them. No? Just me?
img_1552

 

*Raclette is a semi-hard cow’s milk cheese that is most commonly used for melting. It’s also a Swiss dish based on heating the cheese and scraping off the melted portion.

Leave a Reply

