Cubano, por favor..

Every working-class citizen in NYC knows about Sophie’s, the go-to spot for fresh and authentic Cuban food. Their green aji sauce is so addictive, you’d want to pour it on everything. Luckily for me, Sophie’s blessed my little block in Midtown, and I can’t get enough of the cubano sandwiches. Roasted pork, ham, Swiss cheese, pickles, mustard, crispy buttered bread after it hits the sandwich press- boom. So simple, but so flavorful. 
As I was leaving the office earlier this week, I walked past their open doors and started contemplating what I’d have for dinner. Ten steps to the corner, then yet another craving hit me. Pivot turn right back to Sophie’s! 

Straight to the sandwich counter, I excitedly stumbled upon the mass sandwich-making process. At least three feet of bread with its first pork layer. “Cubano, extra pickles please.”

Oh the pickles…

Leave a Reply

