The Little Old Man at Di Fara Pizza

Another lazy Saturday with Chase, after partying the night before with no real desire to get up or make a movement. Scrolling through Facebook out of boredom, I came across a post titled “Best Pizza in Brooklyn,” or something to that effect, and I was pleasantly surprised to find a little old man making pizza in the Midwood section of Brooklyn. It was Domenico DeMarco* of DiFara Pizza. I’d been there once before, but that was in high school. To put the duration of time in perspective, my ten year reunion is in a month or so.  “Chase! Pizza? They close in an hour, lets go!” Midwood is all of ten minutes away from Mill Basin, but Chase had to find something cute to wear. We’re going to a pizzeria. “We can show up at 7:50, we’ll catch them for the last call.” Chase, we’re going to a pizzeria!

After finally getting her out of the house, into the car, and on the road, we pull up to the corner of Avenue J and East 15th Street. Chase was unpleasantly surprised to find that DiFara was, in fact, a typical Brooklyn pizzeria. You can order curb side at the window and everything.

For the life of me, I couldn’t contain my excitement. I hadn’t eaten pizza in what seemed to be ages, so a damn good slice was needed. I ordered two plain slices for us, grabbed a soda from the refrigerator, and patiently waited.

Processed with Snapseed.

Pizza at DiFara is nothing like pizza at any random Brooklyn pizzeria. I have very vivid childhood memories of Brooklyn pizzerias with my dad: back then, I’d get a pretty big slice with so much cheese, I’d choke, and I’ve held pizzerias to that standard ever since. But adult Ava likes the pizza at DiFara.  It wasn’t as big as your ideal pizzeria slice, but the freshness and flavor made up for it. DeMarco uses imported ingredients – flour, extra-virgin olive oil, San Marzano tomatoes, three different cheeses from Itay, and basil and oregano from Israel. In a windowsill flower box, he grows thyme, oregano, basil, rosemary, and hot peppers. He cuts fresh basil over each pie with a pair of kitchen scissors. The crust was perfectly thin, the tomato sauce had just the right amount of acidity, and the freshly cut basil on top was the perfect finish.

As we were eating, a large group came in and ordered a meat pie, to stay. It was full of pepperoni and sausage and probably a bunch of other yummy pizza meats. The way that pie smelled, I’ll definitely be coming back for a few slices.

Processed with Snapseed.

*I was hoping to find Domenic behind the counter, but it was really late, so maybe another day.

 

Di Fara Pizza
1424 Avenue J
Brooklyn, NY

Leave a Reply

