Women Who Cook

My love had an idea that maybe I could cook, based off of a few pictures and being the daughter of a former chef, but he’d never tasted anything of mine. One of my first trips to Greensboro to visit, with only a quart-sized sauce pan, a large deep frying pan, and a cookie sheet, I became MacGyver in the kitchen and whipped up the best spaghetti and cheese-stuffed meatballs he’d ever had. That’s when he realized I’m a unicorn.

It’s been brought to my attention that there’s this preconceived notion that today’s millennial woman cannot cook. I’m sorry- what? How do you survive, Seamless? This is, by far, the most preposterous thing I’ve ever heard. 

PRE-POS-TER-OUS!!

Where are my millennial women who know how to throw down in the kitchen? Where are my ladies who have dishes their friends and families rave about? If that’s you, and you have an amazing original recipe* you’re willing to share with  the world, here’s what I need:

  • a brief description of yourself, your favorite foods to eat and cook
  • why’d you chose this recipe to submit and why you/your friends/your family like it
  • your recipe and directions
  • 2-3 progress photos (displaying different phases of the recipe) and a photo of the finished dish (it could even be a selfie of you eating it!)

Send all of the above, as an attachment, to avaeats.theblog@gmail.com and let’s get this cooking party started!


*Please be a woman of your word, I can’t stress this enough. If you say the recipe is yours, I won’t fact check you, just don’t put me in an awkward position to owe someone an explanation. Please

Leave a Reply

